Wellness Wednesday: YELLOW!

Image

I was approached by fellow health blogger Allison In Wellness Land a few weeks ago about participating in a weekly posting called “Wellness Wednesdays”.  The goal is to highlight a different colored food each week in an attempt to promote the great advice to “eat a rainbow”!  Well, obviously I was on board, but if you notice, today is definitely NOT Wednesday, and last time I checked, the rainbow starts with red.  Okay, so I’m a few weeks late to the party, which accounts for the fact that Yellow is now the highlighted color of the week!  As for my tardiness, that’s all on me.  I woke up Wednesday fully prepared to talk all about the healthy benefits of lemons and lemon water as a part of a daily morning routine, but that clearly didn’t happen.  I received some unfortunate news about an old friend yesterday, and as a result was very distracted. 

Things work out, though.  This morning, I woke up feeling slightly off, and after being at work a mere 2 hours, a headache, clogged sinuses, and a wicked sore throat were threatening to derail me.  School was all but unbearable as I struggled to remain conscious during a 3 hour lecture on disease outbreak and transmission.  By 6 pm, my day was done and I was finally able to focus on getting over this horrendous cold.  

An old boyfriend once told me that the best way to beat a nasty bug like this is to “sweat it out”, and what better way to do so than to sweat this cold out in the sweatshirt he left at my place?  Big, baggy, comfy, and definitely got me feeling like a sauna. 

Image

Yeah, I may be sick as a dog but I’m still rockin’ the trophy hoodie, don’t deny it! I bet you’re wondering how yellow food plays a role in this.  Well, I’ll tell you!  My go-to flu buster juice just happens to be lemons, garlic cloves, and ginger root, all three of which are very yellow foods with very healing properties!  Mix in some cayenne pepper, and my throat feels so much better.

Image 

I’ve also taken to nibbling on some raw yellow onion, which has notorious anti-inflammatory properties as well as plenty of B6. They are also alliums, which means that yellow onions (as well as the raw garlic I was juicing) are natural antibacterials and anti-fungal foods.  

Hippocrates once said “let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”  By eating a rainbow, we can do just that, and expose our bodies to a plethora of phytonutrients and vitamins essential to thriving health and a flourishing life! 

Stay happy, stay healthy, and stay juicing!

Leave a Reply

