Mango Coconut Breakfast Muffins

A good friend of mine came over the other day, and the first thing she said when she walked in was “Ugh. It smells like vegan in here.”  What do I even say to that?  Well, I had just finished making some vegetable soup, so while she said my apartment smelled like “vegan”, what it really smelled like were leeks and corn and onions and carrots and garlic and homemade vegetable stock, among other ingredients.  When I asked her if she wanted to try some, the answer was “Not in a million years.”  I can’t say I was completely surprised, since that seems to be the general reaction when I offer anyone food.  It’s like people associate “vegan” with “alien” food or something, when all I’m doing is eating fresh, natural foods.

Oh well.  It’s not like their opinion of my diet affects me at all; I know what I’m eating and I know my reasons for choosing those foods.  The food is SO GOOD though!  My decision to become vegan was for no one’s benefit but my own.  I’ve never been one to thrust my views or lifestyle choices on others, but seeing as I’m working towards one day having a Master’s Degree in Public Health, I feel like I should be inspiring others and sharing my awesome discoveries (hence this blog!).  I wish I could show people that healthy alternatives to their everyday choices like juicing and using fresh ingredients can taste just as good, if not better!

I think I found an awesome breakfast recipe that can make vegans and non-vegans alike super happy!  These mango and coconut breakfast muffins are so delicious, and when I make them, people think my apartment “smells like vegan” in a mouth-watering, can’t-wait-to-sink-my-teeth-into-this-awesomeness kind of way.  Recipes like this are good recipes while moving towards a diet of eating more raw fruits and vegetables than anything else.  

For all you vegans: Here’s one more recipe to add to your arsenal! For all you non-vegans: Try this recipe and let me know what you think of it!  I adapted this recipe from The Vegan Cookbook and simplified it.  I have to say, this is one of my favorite breakfasts!

Image

Mango Coconut Breakfast Muffins

  • 2 cups unbleached, unbromated flour
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 tbsp. flaxseed meal
  • 3/4 cup dehydrated, unsweetened coconut, shredded
  • 1/2 cup raw cane sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (or soy)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 very ripe mango, peeled and chopped 

Mix together all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  For time-saving purposes, I placed all my dry ingredients into a mason jar the night before.  That way, I could sleep in a little longer and breakfast would get made faster!

Mix together the milk, oil, and mango in a separate bowl, and then add the mixture to the dry ingredients.  Mix everything until nicely combined.

Heat the oven to 375 degrees and get your muffin cups ready.  The batter should divide into the 12 muffin tins pretty well.  Sprinkle a little extra coconut on the muffin tops (this is totally optional) and then throw those bad boys in the oven for 25 minutes.  

Let cool for 5 to 10 minutes before enjoying delicious mango heaven!

2 thoughts on “Mango Coconut Breakfast Muffins

Leave a Reply

