Puppies! And Tasty Brussels Sprouts

Hey everyone!  I feel really great today… not starving and dying like yesterday.  It may have had something to do with the 9 puppies I got to hang out with today (perks of working in animal welfare).  Puppies just make people happy.  It’s a proven fact.  I’ve determined it.

pup1

Okay, so today was day 4 of the meal planning/fitness mapping, and I have to admit, I was a little worn out when I got home from work.  8-5 is a looong shift!  I pushed through the crazy urge to nap once I was home, and whipped out a quick 90 minute workout before cooking dinner.  It went a little longer than planned, but I’m glad I did it, because that meant I got to cross off the day on my calendar.  Since I’m such a visual person, it keeps me motivated!

cal1

Finally, dinner time!

Dinner: Caramelized Maple Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms – SOOOOO delicious!  I never really liked Brussels sprouts before, but in the spirit of trying new things, I gritted my teeth and chowed down.  Oh my gosh, have I been missing out or what?! They are so dang good, it’s ridiculous!  This recipe can be found on at Reboot With Joe , and they recommend serving over quinoa for a more substantial meal.  I was planning on making the quinoa, but I ate it all while waiting for the quinoa to cook!  I seem to eat up my ingredients a lot, haha. I’ll use the quinoa tomorrow or Saturday to make Black Bean Burgers.  Final verdict though? Absolutely delicious, and only 5 ingredients!

1 lb. Brussels Sprouts2 cups mushrooms3.5 tbsp Maple SyrupHimalayan Salt2 tbsp Olive Oil

1 lb. Brussels Sprouts
2 cups Mushrooms
3.5 tbsp Maple Syrup
Himalayan Salt
2 tbsp Olive Oil

My favorite part about cooking these recipes and experimenting?  When the finished product looks just like the picture!  This looks EXACTLY like the picture on the Reboot With Joe site! Yippee!

bruss2

Juice of the Day: 1 Fennel bulb and 2 Bartlett Pears – Fennel is so dang good for you. It’s like a food with super powers. Some studies even show that it can reverse the growth of cancer cells.  Do I want that in my diet? YES PLEASE!  I try to buy fennel when I can, but it can be a little expensive.  A good sized bulb weighs a little over a pound, and at 3.99/lb. right now, that’s a little much to be spending on just one juice.  Drnk it when you can, though!

It’s been said, “Don’t live to eat; Eat to live.”  Why can’t we do both?  Good Food.  Good Health.  Good Living.

Happy Juicing!

Leave a Reply

