Day 3 of 15

 

To everyone our there questioning the nutrients consumed during a juice fast, I’ll point you to Exhibit A.  That group of greens was just ONE of 4 “meals” I drank today.  In fact, this was breakfast.  I don’t know about all of you, but I don’t usually wake up in the morning and think to myself “I’m starving, so I should probably go wolf down a bundle of kale, 2 apples, half a lemon, a whole cucumber, a hunk of ginger, and 4 stalks of celery.”  Could you eat all this in one sitting?  I’ll put my money on no.  Maybe I could go for the two apples, or possibly half that cucumber, but there’s no way I could down this group of veggies in one sitting.  And kale?  I know it’s a “super food”, but have you tried it raw and all by its lonesome?  Not my cup o’ tea.   Ginger? I like it in stuff, but by itself?  My mouth would burn for days if I ate that huge hunk.  Taking all these foods and blending them together into a neat, compact 24 oz. juice to drink on the way to work is starting to sound like a pretty good idea, isn’t it? Plus, the darker/greener the food, the healthier it is, and just look at this gorgeous green masterpiece!

I’m telling you, this whole “green drink in the morning” thing really works.  I know I’m on a juice fast and I have to drink it, but I swear that about 15 minutes after drinking it, I was ready to kill it this morning at work, and I didn’t even think about my next meal until 5 hours later.  I felt unstoppable!

So I feel like the recipe for this concoction is pretty self explanatory, given the picture above, but I’ll post it below, too! You’ll need:

  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 apples
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 1″ ginger root
  • 8 large kale leaves

Happy juicing everybody! Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

