A New Tradition

First of all, let me just apologize for my lack of posting in the last 6 weeks.  I’ve been super frustrated about it, but my life has been a little hectic the past few weeks.  I’ve had to adjust to a new computer and its time restrictions (Ethan needs to use this bad boy, too now!), I quit my job, got a new job, my car broke down, had to drive 8 hours (16 round-trip) to North Carolina to get a new one, and had to deal with my university’s highly practical filing system which listed me as a dropout rather than a graduate.  Oh, the joys of being me.  So all of that put together  pushed blogging pretty far down on my list of priorities.  For that, I’m really sorry!  But all seems to be well and right with the world again, and it’s time to get back to the important stuff like health, happiness, and ridiculously delicious ways to get there!

Having said all that, I think a new Wednesday tradition is in the making, and I’m so excited about it!  Ethan’s mom decided to make dinner for everyone tonight, and then we plan on having a movie night (I say “planning on” because Ethan is still at work while I’m writing this, and he has yet to come home to this delicious meal!).  The theme of these dinners may not be explicitly “vegan” or “health=conscious”, but tonight’s dinner was both.  Not to mention it was sooo good!  Okay, so I only got one picture of my first helping, and I’m lucky I even got that much evidence.  It was like I blinked and both plates were magically empty, and my stomach was inexplicably satisfied.

Yes, I wolfed down like half a loaf of garlic bread, but can you blame me?  It was brown, perfect, garlicky crispiness!  The Alfredo sauce was my favorite part of the dinner, though.  Since I started (trying my hardest) to be vegan, I haven’t experimented with making any “fake” dairy foods.  Things like cheese or cream, I’ve just tried to dismiss completely, with no hope of feeling their loving warmth on my taste buds again.  Eating this Alfredo made me so happy on so many levels, I can’t even explain.  Okay, first, it was healthy, without all the fat from cream, not to mention the fact that it straight up was not animal or any byproduct thereof.  Secondly, my lactose intolerance has been getting worse these past few months, probably because I’ve cut out way more dairy products than I ever have before.  Now, when Ethan orders a pizza or brings home pepper jack stuffed pretzel bites (OMG yum), I spend 10 minutes enjoying these delicious, cheesy treats, and the rest of the night (sometimes into the early morning) is spent doubled over in immobilizing stomach cramps. Seriously immobilizing, like, I-can’t-even-make-it-from-the-couch-to-the-bedroom-so-just-leave-me-here-to-die stomach cramps.  Kind of puts a damper on enjoying crappy foods, huh?

So imagine my elation when I scarf down a plate of Alfredo, which usually banishes me to a state of torture (after briefly being delicious), and…. nothing!  Nothing but a full, happy stomach, and the ability to remain active for the rest of my day.  Needless to say, I’m super excited and ready for movie night! Let the night continue, and the Wednesday dinner nights, too!

Leave a Reply

