To Stay on Track? or Feel Like Crap? Hmmm…

First of all, I want to give a shout out to my friend Danielle, who is on DAY 2 of her first juice fast and still going strong!  You may be back in Toledo girl, but I’m still cheering for you back here in Cleveland!

Okay, now down to business.  It was a long weekend for Ethan and I, full of weddings, dance competitions, and lots of processed foods.  All I have to say right now is I MISS JUICE! And so does my stomach.  For the past four days, it’s been screaming WHAT ARE YOU PUTTING INTO ME!  STOP IT!  Sorry, stomach!  It’s amazing how different a person can feel just by what they eat.  5 days ago, I ran 6 miles.  This morning, I did a 15 minute weight routine and then went for a run, but after cheesy puffs, m&ms, and greasy lasagna all week, I only made it 2 miles before my body simply shut off.  And my dairy sensitivity has done nothing but heighten since I cut it out of my diet for good.  But when you haven’t eaten all day and you’re eating whatever the banquet food is, you take what you can get.  I did manage to avoid meat (go me!), but all the vegetarian options were stuffed, drizzled, or fried with cheese.  Ugh.  I was so starving on one of the days that I just had to suck it up and eat the cheesy ravioli, and then suffer the headaches and twistingly knotty stomach cramps. Joy.

4 days.  Only four days of not looking out for my body like I should, and it feels like it’s falling to pieces! I could have kicked myself for not making at least 4 miles this morning, but I didn’t even have the energy to do that!  Whole foods are seriously amazing, and I only now fully appreciate their worth in my life.  I was so happy this morning when I got back from running and got to drink a coconut water (nature’s natural energy drink!).  I made a really yummy smoothie this morning, too, from strawberries, carrots, apples, ginger, and blueberries, and I swear my stomach was grinning and humming.

I think I’ll opt for some raw carrot-ginger soup tonight, which means I have to pick up some more avocados!  I agree, carrots and avocados sound like an interesting combination, and when I say interesting I mean not so appetizing.  But don’t knock it till you try it!  I tweaked the recipe I found a little, first because it made too much for my blender, and second because I didn’t like some of the ingredients, like EVOO.  I’m trying to stay AWAY from that stuff!  Here’s what it boils down to (ha ha ha… soup boiling down… but this soup is cold, so no boiling!)”

  • 1 avocado
  • 1.5 cups carrot juice, courtesy of your juicer!
  • 1-2 tbsp. agave nectar
  • .5 inch ginger root skinned and chopped
  • A pinch (or two) cayenne pepper

 

Cut the avocado in half.  Throw one half into your blender, along with the carrot juice, agave nectar, ginger, and cayenne.  Blend for about 10-20 seconds (it won’t take long since everything is so soft).  Put your soup into a bowl (I prefer a mug).  Now cut up the other half of your avocado into little cubes and plop them into the soup for some texture/garnish/whatever you want to call it.  Stick it in the fridge to get colder or enjoy right away!  I prefer to eat it right away because when I decide to make it, it’s usually because I’m starving!

This is the easiest recipe ever, and I’m definitely no cook (just ask Ethan.  I’d starve without his kitchen smarts!).  If I can whip this dish up solo without supervision, I bet 99% of the population could, too!  Here’s the nutritional breakdown of just a few of the nutrients in this yummy bowl (or mug) of chilled soup!

  • 375 calories
  • 0 sodium
  • 29 grams sugar
  • 22.75 grams fat

 

I know what you’re thinking: look at all that sugar.  I might as well go get a smoothie from jamba juice and save myself the hassle.  This sugar is different, though!  While packaging doesn’t distinguish between refined sugars and natural sugars, it should!  The sugars in this soup are 100% unrefined, natural sugars, which are easier for your body to break down than that refined gunk.  The same goes for the fats: these are good fats, people! The fats in this soup, which mainly come from the avocado, are mostly monounsaturated fatty acids, or MUFAs.  MUFAs lower your LDL levels (bad cholesterol) and raise HDL (good cholesterol), as well as regulate blood sugar.  All in all, this soup (or just plain avocados) are a win-win food!

2 thoughts on “To Stay on Track? or Feel Like Crap? Hmmm…

  1. End of day 2 and I am currently enjoying a Purple Power juice while watching hunger games 🙂 It’s definitely tough, but I feel better and I’ve been able to resist my friend Kelsey sitting here eating Gardetto’s and I haven’t cheated ONCE!

Leave a Reply

