Organics: What to Buy, What to Do?

I try to be healthy.  I buy mostly whole foods, eat a mostly raw diet, and for the most part, I’m pretty dang impressed with myself.  One thing I’ve been looking into, however, is the cost of this “healthy lifestyle”.  I mean, I’m a broke, recent college grad working too many hours for not enough $$$$$$, so how am I supposed to maintain this life I want for myself?  One thing that jacks up the cost without fail at the grocery store is buying organic.  If I bought regular fruits and vegetables, I would save a ton of money, but after researching exactly what goes into/onto non-organic foods, I can’t bring myself to buy them! I found some interesting articles about which fruits and veggies to buy organic, and thedailygreen.com had a great list complete with explanations!  Here’s what the general consensus was:

Avocado, pineapple, mango, kiwi, papaya, and watermelon all have such thick skin that they are foods with a minimal chance of pesticides making it through to the actual part we eat.  These items seem pretty safe to buy non-organic.

Some foods have less of a pest threat, and therefore require drastically smaller amounts of pesticides, making them a little bit safer.  These include onions, eggplant, asparagus, broccoli, and sweet potatoes. Also in this category are sweet peas, which the EWG has announced are the least likely non-organic vegetable to have pesticides on them!

Cabbage doesn’t hold onto pesticides that are sprayed on it, and pesticides don’t reach the kernels on ears of corn since they are so well protected.

Tomatoes were also on the list of things you shouldn’t buy organically, but I’m still skeptical about those, seeing as there was no explanation to why they have less pesticides than others.

That’s the list I try and go by now, and it helps immensely.  I know that there are other reasons to buy organic foods, but from a strict cost standpoint, these rules are helpful.  Another factor that goes into whether I buy organic foods or not is this sign I saw at the grocery store a couple weeks ago:

 

ImageSo after checking this signage out, I was pretty creeped.  I want to bite into an apple or put some peaches in my belly, and wax/shellac is not the kind of pairing I had in mind for either of those. These foods aren’t “waxed for freshness”; they are sprayed down with wax to look like some sort of fake fruit basket which, unfortunately, society has come to deem as acceptable produce. Needless to say, whether I do follow the non-organic buying guidelines, I scrub the crap out of allllll my produce the minute I walk through the door (and the water is black and sticky when I’m finished).

Are my organic cucumbers a bit smaller than your body-building, steroided cucs?  Yes.  Yes they are.  My cucs are full of nutrients, though, not pesticides.  Oh, and I can also run my fingernail along the side of mine and not end up with wax built up under my nail.  I hardly see wax on organic produce, though occasionally there might be a thin coating, so if you get as grossed out as I do about wax on your produce (all I can picture is biting into a candlestick, a thought which makes me very queasy), organic is definitely the safer option, and don’t forget to wash veggies, no matter what kind they are!

 

Leave a Reply

