Healthy is a Lifestyle!

Since moving to Cleveland, I now live about 3.5 hours away from my family back in Michigan.  This gets a little stressful at times, and of course, I miss them! Thank goodness for cell phones and Skype, or I would never survive!

One of my cousins is getting married in August, and I was so honored when she asked me to be one of her bridesmaids!  The wedding is August 17, and I’m so excited for that day to come! Now, that being said, I was talking to my dad this afternoon about some health-related topic (the usual convo between us) and I mentioned that Ethan and I would be starting another juice fast in two weeks.  All of the sudden, his voice got very concerned.  “What?  You’ll be juicing at the wedding?  I don’t think that’s a very good idea.”  Why not?  His response was this:

Don’t you want to have fun with the family?  Don’t you want to take part in the festivities?

His words hit me like a ninja’s front kick.  It was right then and there that I had an epiphany: Our culture is totally centered around food! I mean, I already knew that.  I’ve heard it in so many documentaries.  But for my father, a very health-conscious individual, to tell me that without food, this celebration would be boring and unenjoyable for me?  I really had to stop and think about what to say.  I told him, “Just because we won’t be eating, we won’t have less fun.  This is about seeing family and celebrating the union of two people in love, not a hot dog eating contest!”  He laughed and told me he never really thought about it like that.

What is this world coming to? Namely, what is our society coming to?  We have been programmed to live every aspect of our lives for food.  Sad? Go grab some Ben & Jerry’s.  You got a promotion?  Let’s go out for celebratory drinks!  Little Johnny’s T-ball team just won their game?  I guess it’s off to pizza hut!  The reaction of eating can literally be tied to any holiday, special occasion, or even fleeting feeling that a person has.  This is crazy!  Healthy habits need to address this issue head-on, otherwise you’re pretty screwed.

I think that’s going to be a big challenge for me in this journey to health.

What do Danielle and I do to keep in contact every week? Go out for drinks and fries.

Where am I meeting my best friend tomorrow? Zoup.  What does my family want when they come visit me?  To go out to eat 5 times a day.

I didn’t realize how much people rely on food as a mechanism for celebration, coping, or even boredom, until Ethan and I began our first juice fast 3 weeks ago.  We just have to remember that Healthy is a lifestyle, too, just like Mindless Eater is.  The choice is ours, and I think we are living proof that Healthy is just as much fun, if not more, than Mindless Eater!

And we do have a lot more fun than before.  While Ethan was at work last night, I came home and left him this note on the fridge:

He has to be up early tomorrow morning to drive to a seminar in Columbus, and I know he’ll need his energy! I am such a good girlfriend.  He was so excited that I made him juice for his trip, though, and that was pretty awesome.  Yes, we are nerds.  Big (actually, we’re shrinking!), silly, juice nerds.  But that’s okay.  We like it that way!

Leave a Reply

