Tasty vegan soup!

20120723-144107.jpgAlright so this soup was kind of absolutely delicious!!  My mom used to make broccoli soup like this when I was a kid, so I decided a little taste of home with a few additions would be perfect for today!  I had broccoli, carrots, onions, and celery left over from juicing this morning, and those are all excellent soup ingredients! Okay so here’s what I did:

First, I filled a pot with water about 2/3 of the way full and turned the stove up on high.  Then I drizzled in about a tbsp of EVOO.  After that I grabbed my two stalks of broccoli, cut them into florets, and tossed them in!  Same drill with the carrots, onions, and celery.

Next, I pulled out my obscenely large spice collection and threw in the following:

  • 1 tbsp Old Bay
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • a few shakes of minced garlic
  • a few shakes of minced onion
  • a few shakes of dried basil
  • some more Old Bay

It’s starting to smell delicious!  Once the water started to boil, I poured in about a half cup of organic, 100% whole grain elbow noodles.  Then I threw the lid on, turned the heat down to 2, poured myself a small glass of ABC (apples, beets, carrots), and plopped down on the new leather chair in my living room to watch The Departed.  About 20 minutes later, soup’s done!!

Now, this recipe was totally vegan, but it also has no sugar or bleached flour.  I could have made it without the oil, but I caved! 😦 shame on me!  For all those non-vegans out there, grating a little bit of Pecorino Romano cheese on top makes this soup absolutely to die for.

Leave a Reply

