Scoping out the health food stores

After work, I wasn’t feeling too well.  I think maybe because I ate a little too much raw ginger or something? I don’t know.  All I know is that after a healthy lunch of kale, organic brown rice, agave nectar, yellow peppers, tomatoes, and grated ginger, I was ridiculously nauseous and all I wanted to do was crawl into a corner and suffer in peace.

Image

This mini bowl of salad and rice was wayyyy too much for me to handle 😦 It was yummy as heck though! moderation, moderation, moderation. Hello new mantra.

Luckily, I have amazing coworkers who let me leave a few hours early (thanks guys!) and I jumped in my car and drove to see my Big.  After catching up for a few minutes, we headed over to a local market called the Earth Fare.  wow.  If you live in Cleveland or anywhere near the West side, you have got to check this place out!  There was so much locally grown produce, and the organic vegetables looked beastly compared to the regular grocery store!  The grains were all in bins and so were the nuts, and there was even a machine full of different nuts just waiting to make fresh peanut butter (or cashew or almond or choco-peanut!) butter!

Aaaaaannnddddd….. theyhadjuicersintheproducesection!!!gahhh!!!

Image

Oh yeah, juicers in the produce section!

Needless to say, I was like a kid in a candy shoppe. What to go for first?! While my Big started scooping up baked veggie “chips”, I was hurriedly bagging some organic wasabi peas, a guilty pleasure of mine.  When we filled up to our heart’s content, we slid on over to the meat counter so my Big could check out the beef.  I’m not gonna lie; their burgers did make my mouth water a little.

To talk about every single fabulous item I laid my eyes on would simply take too long, so I figure I will just throw the spotlight on my two favorite purchases so far.  First, I thought that maybe my stomach was missing the juice, hence it’s temper tantrum earlier, so I ordered a juice from the juice bar.  Beets, blueberries, and apples swirled together and calmed my tastebuds.  Just what they were craving!  My stomach felt instantly better, probably because blueberries are a natural anti inflammatory.  I felt good for the first time since lunch, hooray! I think I will make a juice for breakfast tomorrow, and one for the drive to Toledo tomorrow night.  I think I’m definitely hooked on juicing, and after today, I know I need to ease back into food with a little more ease. I thought that’s what I was doing, but I think for the first time, I’m actually going to listen to my body, and right now my body is saying “you stuffed me too full!”  I thought the portion of my salad today was actually kind of small, but I guess I need to rethink my portions.

Oh and I almost forgot.  I bought some mint ice cream that is TO DIE FOR. Seriously.  But it’s not really ice cream. It is a dairy-free ice cream alternative, and get this: only 1 gram of sugar per serving, and 10 grams fiber. Holy awesome! I only had a couple spoonfuls and was totally satisfied (before my fast, I was eating a whole pint at a time), and that made me proud, yet again, that my commitment to health is now showing visible changes in my life! Was I happy about getting sick today? Yes and No.  No, I don’t think anyone really wants to vomitron, especially at work, but yes, I was happy to know that my body is responding to the changes I am making in my life, and now I know that I don’t need to eat as much as I have in the past.

Image

OMG. go buy this RIGHT MEOW!!!

All in all, I’d say it was a good day.  Except for the fact that Ethan left for Puerto Rico this morning.  Lucky bastard.

One thought on “Scoping out the health food stores

Leave a Reply

